Who We Are

The UNSW Aviation Society (AvSoc) is an arc affiliated club at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). We aim to provide a socialising platform for students who are currently enrolled in the Bachelor of Aviation.


What We Do

The UNSW AvSoc runs social, professional and educational events including barbecues, careers expo, end-of-year ball, party buses, road trips and an aviation international study abroad program.

Our careers expo features influential businesses and organisations within the aviation industry. The expo provides insights into the various graduate programs and career paths that are available to students. Businesses and organisations in attendance at the 2018 careers expo include: Australian Federal Police, Civil Aviation Safety Authority, Menzies Aviation, Qantas, Royal Aeronautical Society, Singapore Airlines, Sydney Airport and Virgin Australia.

In 2018 we ran our inaugural Aviation International Study Abroad Program (AISAP) tour to Korea which coincided with the Air Transport Research Society (ATRS) conference. Attendance at the conference allowed for students to network with managers, executives and directors from airlines, airports and organisations around the world. In attendance at the ATRS conference included: Amsterdam Schipol International Airport, Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Incheon International Airport, Korea Airport Corporation, Korea Transport Safety Authority, Air Busan, Jeju Air and Eastar Jet.

In addition, students on the AISAP tour visited local organisations which provided an educational insight into the operations, decision making process and culture of each respective organisation. We visited organisations such as Korean Air, Korea Airports Corporation, Incheon International Airport, Jeju National University, Jeju Tourism Organisation and UBjet Aviation.


The 2019 Committee

President - Ashan Karunagaran

Vice President (Management) - Weijin Min

Vice President (Flying) - Jono He

Arc Delegate - Jazmin Tweddle O’Donnell

Events Coordinator - Annie Zhai

Peer Mentor Coordinator - Shirley Liao

Secretary - Jessica He

Treasurer - Henry Shum

Webmaster - James Tan





Student Testimonial
Ashan Karunagaran